Pay Your Bill Online

Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Commission is comprised of seven volunteers appointed by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and one non-voting representative from the Naval Air Station Patuxent River. Commissioners serve a three-year term. For biographical information of any of the Board members, click on a name below or visit the St. Mary's County Government Website, Boards and Commissions Page here for a complete listing of the current membership roster.

All meetings of the Metropolitan Commission are open to the public.  Meetings of the Metropolitan Commission are held the second and fourth Thursday of each month beginning at 3:00 p.m.  A copy of the 2017 Commission Meeting schedule can be found here. All meetings of the Metropolitan Commission are conducted in the Main Conference Room of our Administrative Office, located at 23121 Camden Way, California, MD 20619.  The public is encouraged to attend the meetings and may request the opportunity to be heard and voice concerns on items posted to the agenda.

To have a topic considered for placement on the agenda, a Request for Appointment on the Commission Meeting Agenda (FORM) must be completed and submitted via email to agenda_request@metcom.org or to the Administrative Office two weeks prior to the meeting.  Please include an outline of the presentation and any other associated documents.  Any questions regarding your submission can be directed to 301-737-7400 X 213.  All other requests to be heard at any meeting will be at the discretion of the Board Chairman.   

The Agenda for the Regular Meeting will be published no later than the Monday preceding the meeting and can be viewed on the Public Meetings page.  Meeting videos are available three to five days following the meeting and minutes are published following Board approval.

In addition to meeting with customers directly and obtaining input through public meeting comments, we also solicit comments via this website.  To submit comments to MetCom staff and Commissioners, please address your email to comments@metcom.org  





Our Board of Commissioners




Alice Gaskin

Election District 1

Alice Gaskin, 1st Election District, was born and raised in St. Mary's County, Maryland and resides in Dameron with her husband.  She is a 1977 Graduate of Great Mills High School and is a      Read more



John J. Carey, Chairman

Election Districts 2 & 9

John J. Carey, 2nd & 9th Election Districts, is the founder of Carey Systems, a technology
implementation consultancy serving residential and commercial customers in St. Mary's and Calvert

Read more



Michael Mummaugh

Election District 3

Michael J. Mummaugh, 3rd Election District, is currently president and owner of Paragon Properties, Inc., a custom home builder/general contractor located in Leonardtown, MD. Read more


Bryan M. Barthelme, Vice-Chairman

Election Districts 4 & 5

Bryan M. Barthelme, 4th & 5th Election Districts.  Mr. Barthelme previously worked 35-years in Retail & Wholesale Sales, most recently with Reliable Churchill Distributors, Inc. and  Read more


Mike Thompson

Election District 6

George M. "Mike" Thompson, 6th Election District, worked as an engineer, supervisor and project manager for Verizon in Washington, DC, Annapolis, and finally the Tri-County area           Read more 


Robert "Bob" A. Russell

Election District 7

Robert A. Russell, 7th Election District, worked as a flight test engineer and engineering manager for the Navy at Patuxent River for more than 40 years and then 14 years as a contractor supporting  Read more


Steven Willing 

Election District 8

Steven Willing, 8th Election District, has been employed by NAVAIR at Patuxent River Naval Air Station as an Engineering Psychologist in the Human Systems Department since 1996. Read more

Captain Scott Starkey

Captain Jason G. Hammond, USN, Commanding Officer, NAS, Patuxent River, MD Click Here for Full Bio

Non-Voting Member of the Board 


Mike Oliver, Utilities Branch Head 
Captain Hammond's Representative